Mopping Up the Killing Floor

I thought about killing the devil 

I thought about killing you 

I thought about killing Jesus, Buddha, and the President too

.

I thought about melting forks, knives, and spittoons,

Into bullets to shoot all dishes that run with the spoons

I thought about missiles headed straight to the moon

Drowning all stars beneath black ocean blues

.

I thought about syringes full of air and gasping to breathe,

I thought about funerals, tears, and flowery wreaths,

I thought about bones, flesh, and the pain that we weave,

And giving everyone their permanent relief

 

.

I thought about fury that resides inside me

And decided these demons comprise only half of me.

In sympathy I allow them to take refuge within, never giving what they want, but what they need instead.

(Family, law, savior & way).

.

On the way to glory, we may find terrible sin

Redemption can follow, when we let light in

Place down our weapons, ’til anger does not rise

This eternal battle is a clever disguise.

“Be ye wise as serpents

And gentle as doves” 

Holy Spirit whispers gently,

“So below as above.”

.

May the muses always whisper truth upon your ear,

Because the devil gives wet willies, only tells what we want to hear.

Truth hides in plain sight, not far, always near 

Love endures all pain, anything less: imprisonment by fear.

.

I give away what I love

When it doesn’t want to be near

I set free what I cherish

And release all that is dear

.

If I wait in vain,

And lose what I earn

I’ll cherish the ashes

And empty the urn.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.